Band and Board Officers

Below is a list of our Band and Board Officers.

David Rizzo

Dave is a former member of the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office. He now works in IT at a major national firm.


Dave steps into the role of President/Band Manager, succeeding Dave Staub. He previously served as a Trustee.

Dave has been a band member since 2014, lives in suburban Rochester with his family including daughter Olivia who is a Band dancer. Dave is a former member of the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office and now works in IT at a major national firm.

Glen Johnson

Glen has over 30 years in local fire service having served in both Barnard Fire District where he rose through the ranks to Chief and served later as a Fire Commissioner, and the Lake Shore Fire District.


Glen serves as our Pipe Major. He began his piping experience with the Greece Police Northampton Pipes and Drums and came to the Keystone Pipes & Drums in 2007. Glen has served as a Trustee, Pipe Sergeant, and as Quartermaster of the band before being elected to the pinnacle position of Pipe Major.

Stephen Winner

He is a retired Monroe County Deputy Sheriff, a retired U.S.A.F Senior Master Sergeant and Fire Chief, a former Rush Fire District Commissioner, a Social Member and past Director of the Rush Fire Department, a Director and the Treasurer of CHS Mobile Integrated Health Care.
He is a Past President and a Past Vice-President of the MILWIT organization which is composed of active and retired members of the United States Military.


Came to the band after several years with the Rochester Scottish Pipes & Drums. In addition to his position as Drum Major, he serves as a drummer, as well as the band’s webmaster.

Lex Sleeman


Lex serves as a Pipe Sergeant. Lex has an extensive background in piping. He started piping in 1996 as a member of Feadan Or Pipe Band, and joined GKCPP&D in 2009. He is a Band Trustee.

He retired as the Associate Director of Athletics, NCAA Compliance officer, and Title IX deputy at RIT. Since 2002, Lex has been the “official” piper for RIT. The pipes and drums have been a tradition at RIT for their New Student Convocation, the “Women’s Light The Way” convocation, Commencement Convocation and Graduation ceremonies. He has played for George Tenet, Director of the CIA; Senator Charles Schumer; Anne Mulcahy, former Chairman and CEO of Xerox Corp.; Dean Kamen, inventor of the Segway; President William Clinton, and Bill Nye, the science guy, to name a few. “Playing for the Keystone Club Police Pipes and Drums has given me the opportunity to give back to those that have given their service to my country, my home and to me in so many ways, it is just a small token to say thank you for what you do and what you have done.”

Aaron Hiller

Member and former Fire Chief, Brighton Fire District.
Monroe County Arson Investigator

Aaron Hiller

Aaron is an active member and past chief of the Brighton Fire Department and currently serves as a Fire Investigator and Deputy Fire Coordinator with the Monroe County Fire Bureau.

Jim VanBrederode

Founding Member of the band.
Police Chief - Gates Police Department.

Jim VanBrederode

A thirty year veteran of law enforcement, Jim is a founding member of the band. He began piping lessons in 1998 and became Pipe Major after mastering the nine notes of the practice chanter. Jim stepped down as Pipe Major in 2011. He continues to actively participate as a Pipe Sergeant. He enjoys putting together performances with all the pomp and pageantry you would expect from a pipe band. A performance, whether it is a wedding, funeral or graduation ceremony, needs to be entertaining. “If you don’t grab the audience in the first few minutes you might as well stop and go home.” Piping is a gift of talent on loan from God – a gift Jim shares unconditionally with the community to bring people together. Chief VanBrederode also serves as the Treasurer of the Genesee Valley Chapter of Concerns Of Police Survivors (COPS). He volunteers his time helping surviving family members.

Bill Gilchrist

Bill is a former active firefighter with the Henrietta Fire District (1975 - 1995), and a current Fire Commissioner with the Henrietta Fire District (2006 to present).

B Gilchrist